Stay Informed
Sign up for our newsletter to receive information on our latest news & events
Join us or login

Who we are

Women Ahead was launched in 2001 to encourage, support and connect women in business and the professions in Dundee and Angus. It is an inclusive, supportive and inspirational group of women who wish to make the most of themselves, their careers and family life.

The objectives of Women Ahead are to:

  • Provide a forum for discussion, development and networking
  • Enable businesswomen to share knowledge, skills and experience
  • Encourage members’ advancement in business through personal development
  • Exert influence in a professional manner in business circles and thereby promote the advancement of women.

Women Ahead is affiliated to the Association of Scottish Businesswomen (ASB), the umbrella organisation representing over 1000 businesswomen in Scotland. For more information on the ASB, see

Past chairs of Women Ahead are:

2015 - 2016 Joanne Grimmond

2014 - 2015 Deborah Miller

2013-2014 Edith Adam
2012-2013 Wendy Maltman
2011-2012 Sharron McIntosh
2010-2011 Alison Henderson
2009-2010 Muriel Bruce
2008-2009 Kathleen Brown
2007-2008 Eleanor Whitby
2006-2007 Joan Williamson

The Committee

Learn more about Philomena

Chair: Philomena Alexander

Gemini Marketing

Past Chair of Women Ahead

Learn more about Laura

Vice Chair: Laura Cairns

Solarwinds MSP

'Young Women of The Year' winner in the Women Ahead Business Awards 2014. Laura is Vice Chair of Women Ahead for 2016-2017

Learn more about Joanne

Past Chair: Joanne Grimmond


Joanne was Past Chair for 2015/16

Learn more about Deborah

Secretary: Deborah Miller

MacRoberts LLP

Chair of Women Ahead 2014 - 2015 Secretary - 2015 - 2016

Learn more about Kirsty

Treasurer: Kirsty Wilson


Kirsty is Treasurer for Women Ahead

Learn more about Valerie

Committee Member: Valerie Duguid

Healthy Solutions

Learn more about Zoe

Committee Member: Zoe Malpas

Thorntons Investment Management

Learn more about Amy

Committee Member: Amy Jones

Thorntons Law LLP

Learn more about Carolyn

Committee Member: Carolyn Brown

Avian/Blue2 Digital Ltd